Research Guides: Biostatistics and Epidemiology: Recommended Databases

Recommended Databases

The Medical Library recommends two databases to help you learn statistical concepts.

JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
Online resource for teaching, learning, and application of evidence based medicine. Learn to identify, appraise and use the best available evidence to assess health problems and the outcomes of health. Includes User’s Guides to the Medical Literature, calculators and critical appraisal worksheets
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.

Includes Textbooks

User's Guide to the Medical Literature - the centerpiece of EBM theory
JAMA Guide to Statistics and Methods
- Brief examples of new and common statistical and methodological concepts that help clinicians understand and interpret statistics and methods reported in research articles
- Covers interventional studies, observational studies, and practical guide to datasets
- Includes education guides for faculty
Calculators - functional, interactive tools to enhance the user's understanding of statistical and mathematical relationships in EBM
Learning Tools - critical appraisal sheets and information appraisal worksheets to guide evaluation of validity, applicability, and importance of study results
Audio - monthly podcasts from experts in the field

A database of content focused on research methods and the process of how to do research.

Select content includes

For more information, see the Sage Research Methods LibGuide from the main library.