Full Text Browser extensions are great tools to help you find full text journal articles! Click on the link below to learn more about two options supported by the Medical Library, LibKey Nomad and EndNote Click.
In many cases, you will have the option of how you access the full text of an article found in a library database. Links to both HTML and PDF full text often appear under the article metadata.
A PDF article typically displays the same way it would in a print journal, including pagination, graphics, photographs, illustrations, charts and graphs, etc. It also prints well.
An article appearing in HTML format also will duplicate the same content as the original journal article, but it displays as a normal web page. There may be issues with pagination, as well as with viewing graphics, photographs, illustrations, charts and graphs, etc. Text may display in an odd manner. It may not print as well as a PDF, but may load faster if accessing on a mobile device.
There are a variety of ways to find full text journal articles through the Medical Library. This page provides information about two options to find full text:
You can learn more about these methods by scrolling down, or by watching the video below (5 minutes 22 seconds).
Additionally, this page provides information about related issues:
If you are looking for a specific article that you already have the citation for, search OneSearch for the article. You can type in the title and typically find it that way. In some cases you may need to use the filters and/or advanced search options to find the article by entering other information, such as publication year or author information.
When searching for an article in OneSearch, if the library has electronic access to the article, you can often access it from the results page. Simply click on "Read Article" or "Download PDF" (in blue) to access.
Alternatively, if you click on an article title, or the green "Full text available," you will be provided with link(s) to all resources that provide access to your desired article, including various databases and publisher sites. In some cases, instead of "Full text available" you may see a green "Online access" link.
If you do not have a specific article that you are looking for via citation, you will want to search by keywords in OneSearch or a library database. Within databases, you will sometimes find direct links to the article as PDFs or in HTML format. But other times, you may see a blue box with the text: "Find Full Text @ BU."
This indicates that full text may be available in another library database. Bunch Library is the main library on Belmont University's campus.
Clicking on that image will either:
No full-text access for an article you need? Don't pay for it, but use interlibrary loan (ILL)!
ILL is a free service providing full-text articles and book loans for resources that are not available from Belmont. Click on the link below for more information about this service.